m

CLASS ACTION Fees for educational services and for the purchase of school materials

CLASS ACTION Fees for educational services and for the purchase of school materials

x | -A +A | d

Class Action - Fees for educational services and for the purchase of school materials

 

Welcome to the website of the class action for compensatory damages for costs for educational services and for the purchase of school materials. For further information on this class action, please refer to "The Class Action" section of this website.

On June 29th, 2018, a settlement agreement was entered into between the representative plaintiff and the 68 school boards targeted by the class action. This agreement was approved by the Superior Court of Quebec on July 30th, 2018. You may consult the full text of the settlement agreement, of the judgment approving it and of other documents related to the class action in the "Official Documents" section of this website.

The agreement provides that the 68 targeted school boards will pay a total amount of $ 153,507,134, which will allow for the payment to parents of net indemnities of $ 24.09 per student per school year of attendance from the 2009-2010 or 2010- 2011 (according to the school board) school year to the 2016-2017 school year.

The parents do not need to register for the class action or to make a claim in order to receive the indemnities which will be distributed automatically by Collectiva Class Action Services Inc.

Cheques in the amount of the indemnities due to the parents will be issued to the order of the last persons identified as persons in charge in the files of the students concerned with the school boards. The cheques will be mailed to the last known principal address of these persons on file. However, in the event of a change of address, parents must notify Collectiva of their current address by completing, no later than January 21st, 2019, the form available online here.

It is currently planned that the cheques will be gradually mailed in between January 22nd, 2019 and June 20th, 2019. This period may be extended by the court if necessary. For further information, please consult the Distribution Schedule.

For further details, we invite you to consult the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or to contact us.


List of the school boards targeted by the class action

The list of the school boards targeted by the class action is available here.

 

Z

m

ACTION COLLECTIVE Frais pour des services éducatifs et pour l'achat de matériel scolaire

ACTION COLLECTIVE Frais pour des services éducatifs et pour l'achat de matériel scolaire

x | -A +A | d

Action collective - Frais pour des services éducatifs et pour l'achat de matériel scolaire

 

Bienvenue sur le site web relatif à l’action collective en dommages et intérêts compensatoires des frais pour des services éducatifs et pour l’achat de matériel scolaire. Pour plus d’information sur cette action collective, veuillez consulter la section « L’action collective ».

Le 29 juin 2018, une entente de règlement est intervenue entre la représentante et les 68 commissions scolaires visées par l’action collective. Cette entente a été approuvée par la Cour supérieure du Québec le 30 juillet 2018. Vous pouvez consulter le texte complet de cette entente de règlement, le jugement d’approbation de celle-ci ainsi que d’autres documents liés à l’action collective dans la section « Documents officiels » de ce site web.

L’entente prévoit que les 68 commissions scolaires visées paieront un montant total de 153 507 134 $, lequel permettra de verser aux parents des indemnités nettes de 24,09 $ par élève par année scolaire de fréquentation entre les années 2009-2010 ou 2010-2011 (selon la commission scolaire) jusqu’à l’année 2016-2017.

Les parents n’ont pas à s’inscrire à l’action collective ou à faire une réclamation pour recevoir les indemnités qui seront distribuées automatiquement par Collectiva Services en recours collectifs inc.

Les chèques au montant des indemnités payables aux parents seront émis à l’ordre des personnes identifiées dans les dossiers des commissions scolaires comme « personne répondante » pour les élèves visés par l’action collective. Ces chèques seront transmis par la poste à la dernière adresse connue de ces personnes, telle qu’elle est inscrite dans les dossiers des commissions scolaires. Toutefois, les parents ayant changé d’adresse doivent avoir rempli le formulaire en ligne disponible ici, et ce, au plus tard le 21 janvier 2019, afin que Collectiva en soit avisé.

Il est actuellement prévu que les chèques soient progressivement mis à la poste entre le 22 janvier 2019 et le 20 juin 2019. Cette période pourrait être prolongée par le tribunal si nécessaire. Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet, veuillez consulter l’Échéancier de distribution.

Pour de plus amples détails, nous vous invitons à consulter la Foire aux questions ou à nous contacter.
 

Liste des commissions scolaires visées par l’action collective

La liste des commissions scolaires visées par l’action collective est disponible ici.

 

Z